Zhang Li wins 11th Liang Sicheng Architecture Prize

Zhang Li, dean and professor of the School of Architecture at Tsinghua University, won the 11th Liang Sicheng Architecture Prize at an awards ceremony held in east China's Shanghai City on September 23.


The Liang Sicheng Architecture Award, sponsored by the Architectural Society of China (ASC) and supported by the International Union of Architects (UIA), is the highest honor awarded to architects and architectural scholars.

Zhang Li has oriented his academic studies to Urban Ergonomics, an inter-disciplinary domain focusing on human body and space, and the design of active urban spaces. He has been the architect-in-chief of Zhangjiakou Zone, the National Ski Jumping Centre (dubbed the "Snow Ruyi") and the Big Air Shougang (also known as the "Snow Flying Ribbon"), both for Beijing 2022 Olympic Winter Games. His other best internationally known works include Jianamani Visitor Center, and Xin-Jiu-Zhou-Qing-Yan' Roof Garden, China Pavilion 2010 Expo, etc. He has been awarded the title of National Master of Engineering Design and Geotechnique Investigation for his architectural contributions.

He became the fourth winner of the Liang Sicheng Architecture Prize from Tsinghua University. Three other receivers from Tsinghua University include Wu Liangyong, an academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and the Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE); Guan Zhaoye, an academician of the CAE; and Zhuang Weimin, an academician of the CAE.

The prize was jointly established by the ASC and the Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development in the name of Liang Sicheng (1901-1972), the father of Modern Chinese Architecture and founder of the Department of Architecture at Tsinghua University, in 2000, to foster an innovative spirit among architects and architectural workers and enhance the level of architectural design and relevant education.

The ASC collaborated with the UIA in 2016 to promote the internationalization of the bi-yearly Liang Sicheng Architecture Prize and honor renowned architects across the world.

The 10th and 11th Liang Sicheng Architecture Prizes were concurrently awarded in Shanghai as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Winners of the 10th Liang Sicheng Architecture Prize include Arata Isozaki of Japan and Li Xinggang of China. Another recipient of the 11th Liang Sicheng Architecture Prize is Hu Yue of China.

——Follow Us——
Contact Us
Address:School of Architecture,Tsinghua University
Haidian District,Beijing,China 10084
Copyrights © 2018 School of Architecture Tsinghua University